The Wisdom

THE WISDOM BOOKS or Poetry Books

Six books in the Christian Bible are often referred to as poetry books; Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs (Solomon), and Lamentations. They are almost entirely made up of poems, or songs, and wise sayings that the ancient Jews (and the Christians who followed) used to gain wisdom from God and Godly instruction.

However, only five of these books excluding Lamentations which is also known as one of the books of the Major Prophets, are known as the books of Wisdom, or the Wisdom books. These books follow a long run of books (The Historical books) that told the story of ancient Israel’s exile from their promised land, and they are followed by the books of prophecy. (Lamentations is a little songbook next to Jeremiah in the prophecy section.)

Go to the OLD TESTAMENT page